Design Confidently, Live Comfortably



Looking for more information about furnishings, accessories, and building materials featured in the current issue of Inspired House magazine? Just consult the list of resources below from the March/April 2006 issue (#15).

See the Table of Contents.



From "Create a Color Palette with Personality"

Designer: Susan Sargent
www.susansargent.com
Many RUGS, PILLOWS, FABRICS, AND ACCESSORIES shown are available from Sargent's Web site or from her store at 4783 Main St., Manchester, Vermont. For INTERIOR DESIGN CONSULTATIONS OR IN-STORE COLOR WORKSHOPS, phone the store directly (802-366-4955) or email interiors@susansargent.com. Sargent's BOOKS, New Country Color (Watson-Guptill, 2001) and The Comfort of Color (Bulfinch/Time Warner, 2004), are available from her Web site and from major booksellers. Her third book, Colorscapes, will be released by Bulfinch/Time Warner in fall 2006.



From "An Artistic Awakening for a Colonial Home"

ARCHITECT: James Denno
Milford, Connecticut
203-882-8755.
CONTRACTOR: Alan Dreher Custom Building
Newtown, Connecticut.
203-426-1820

The Pais collect ANTIQUES from a number of sources, including auctions and shops throughout New England. Among their favorites are Tucker Frey Antiques (203-263-5404) and Robert S. Walin American Antiques (203-263-4416), which specialize in 18th- and 19th-century American high-country furniture, paintings, folk art, and accessories. Both are in Woodbury, Connecticut.

RECLAIMED FLOORING AND BEAMS are from North Field Restoration, Hampton Falls, New Hampshire. (603-926-5383).

Other sources of ANTIQUE AND RECLAIMED WOOD include Pioneer Millworks, www.pioneermillworks.com; TerraMai, www.terramai.com; Mountain Lumber Company, www.mountainlumber.com; Goodwin Heart Pine Company, www.heartpine.com; and Heartwood Pine, www.heartwoodpine.com.

HARDWARE: Ball and Ball, www.ballandball-us.com.

KITCHEN BACKSPLASH TILES: Country Floors, www.countryfloors.com.

DOORS AND WINDOWS: Pella, www.pella.com.



From "Garage Doors"

CHOOSING AN INSTALLER: You can find local garage door installers in the phone book or online; garage door manufacturers' Web sites generally list authorized dealers (or you can call for one in your area). Most independent dealers/installers carry one or two companies' doors; choose one that has a showroom in which you can make an on-site comparison of the doors available before making a decision. The International Door Association (www.doors.org) has a search function for affiliated installers on its Web site. IDA members must have been in the business for at least three years and adhere to a mandatory code of ethics and customer service. An additional mark of professionalism is accreditation by the Institute of Door Education and Accreditation (IDEA).

Page 36
KEY TO THE PHOTO MONTAGE:
1. Timbercraft by Designer Doors, www.timbercraftdoors.com.
2. Amarr: Tuscany door with Rhine windows, from the Classica Collection, www.amarr.com.
3. Clopay: Coachman Collection, www.clopay.com.
4. Amarr: Santiago with arched top, from the Classica Collection, www.amarr.com.
5. Clopay: Reserve Collection, www.clopay.com.
6. Clopay: Gallery Collection, www.clopay.com.
7. Amarr: Tuscany with Danube windows, from the Classica Collection, www.amarr.com.
8. Jeld-Wen: Carriage House Series, www.jeldwen.com.
9. Carriage House Doors, www.carriagedoor.com.
10. Clopay: Reserve Collection, www.clopay.com.
11. Clopay: Coachman Collection, www.clopay.com.
12. Amarr: Valencia door with Colorado windows, from the Classica Collection, www.amarr.com.
13. Clopay: Avante Collection, www.clopay.com.
14. Garage Doors Incorporated: Sobey, from the Plantation Series, www.garagedoorsinc.com.

Page 37
R.H. Hunt from the Biltmore Estate Collection, Amarr Garage Doors, www.amarr.com.

Page 38
Top: Carozza from Designer Doors, www.designerdoors.com; middle left: a design from Overhead Door's Ranch House Collection, www.overheaddoor.com; bottom: Savannah from the American Rivers Collection, Raynor Garage Doors, www.raynor.com.

Page 39
Top and bottom: Coachman Collection from Clopay, www.clopaydoor.com.

Page 40
design from Overhead Door's Renaissance Collection, www.overheaddoor.com; inset: steel design from Carriage House Door (www.carriagedoor.com, 866-890-1776).

Page 41
Top: Avante Collection from Clopay, www.clopaydoor.com; bottom: Carriage House Series from Jeld-Wen, style 45A (www.jeldwen.com, 800-535-3936).

Additional sources, by type, include:

STEEL BOARD: First United Door Technologies, www.firstudt.com.

GLASSLIKE POLYCARBONATE: (French-door style) Frenchporte, www.frenchporte.com.

CUSTOM WOOD: Hahn's Woodworking, www.hahnswoodworking.com; Moulton Custom Door of Vermont, www.moultoncustomdoor.com; Summit Door, www.summit-door.com.



From "A Narrow Kitchen Opens Up"

Designer: Jean Stoffer Design
www.jeanstofferdesign.com
Architect: Thomas Bair, AIA
Thomas Bair Architects
708-848-6695

COUNTERTOP: Blue Eyes granite supplied by Stone Design in Glendale Heights, Illinois, www.stone-design.com.

RANGETOP AND HOOD: Professional Series gas rangetop #VGRT300-4B and 18-inch-high wall hood #WWH3648, www.vikingrange.com.

MICROWAVE: KitchenAid, exact model is no longer made, but a comparable model is #KCMS185JSS, www.kitchenaid.com.

DISHWASHER: Bosch, www.boschappliances.com.

OVENS: Miele Novotronic #H373B, www.miele.com.

FARMHOUSE SINK: Kohler Hawthorne apron-front sink #K-6534, www.kohler.com.

ISLAND SINK: Kohler Undertone/Lyric circular sink #K-3341, www.kohler.com.

FAUCETS: Whitehaus Collection through Jean Stoffer Design, www.jeanstofferdesign.com.

PENDANT LIGHTS: (in kitchen) Similar styles are available from Rejuvenation Lamp and Fixture Company, www.rejuvenation.com.

CABINETRY: The Stoffer Design Collection through Jean Stoffer Design, www.jeanstofferdesign.com.

CABINET HARDWARE: Top Knobs, www.topknobsusa.com.

BACKSPLASH TILE: London Ceramics through Jean Stoffer Design, www.jeanstofferdesign.com.

PAINT: Kittery Point Green #HC-119 from Benjamin Moore, www.benjaminmoore.com.



From: "At Home in the Southwest"

Architect: Van Amburgh + Parés Architects
Santa Fe, New Mexico
505-983-6868
Builder: Andy Sherwood
Build It Construction Inc.,
Santa Fe, New Mexico
505-242-1124

Living Room
STAIRCASE: Red oak treads are stained Navajo Red, from Sikkens' Rubbol DEK line of opaque stains, www.nam.sikkens.com.

FIREPLACE: Cold-rolled steel spot-welded by Griego's Portable Welding, Albuquerque, New Mexico, 505-877-4294.

SOFA AND LOVE SEAT: Soft 02 series by Piero Lissoni for Cappellini. Available at Unica Home, www.unicahome.com.

ROUND END TABLE: Anton side table from Crate and Barrel, www.crateandbarrel.com.

SQUARE SIDE TABLE: Design Warehouse, Santa Fe, New Mexico, 505-988-1555.

COFFEE TABLE: Custom designed and made of bluestone.

LARGE WALL PAINTING: Oil painting by Chicago artist Brian Bonebrake.

SMALL PAINTING: Mixed media by artist Tonia Herrero of San Pedro Creek, New Mexico.

Bathroom
BATHTUB: Ellisse Oval Bathtub #2709.002 by American Standard, www.americanstandard-us.com.

BATHTUB FAUCETS: Stillness deck-mount bath faucet trim and lever handles #K-T954-4 by Kohler, www.kohler.com.

TOILET: American Standard, www.americanstandard-us.com.

WALL TILE: Iridescent Sandstone #05 Field Tile by Oceanside Glasstile, www.glasstile.com.

FLOORING: Bamboo with an oxidized finish from Berkshire Floors, Albuquerque, New Mexico, 505-839-4414.

Studio
EXTERIOR DOORS: Pine doors from Pacific Mutual Door & Window, Albuquerque, New Mexico, 505-823-2505.

Master Bedroom
GREEN THROW: Hey Jhonny, www.heyjhonny.com.

CHAIRS ON TERRACE: Made in Mexico, purchased at Primitiva, Madrid, www.primitiva.com.

Dining Room
DINNERWARE: Ceramic plates from Rainbow Gate, www.rainbowgate.com.

Kitchen
COUNTERTOPS: Concrete fabricated by Concrete Systems Inc., Albuquerque, New Mexico, 505-884-1134.

CABINETS: Maple-faced plywood designed by Scott Taylor Cabinets, Durango, Colorado, (970-385-4208.

STOVE: 3-foot pro dual-fuel range #KDRP407HSS from KitchenAid, www.kitchenaid.com.

RANGE HOOD: Stainless chimney hood #K3490CMSS from Best by Broan, www.bestbybroan.com).

REFRIGERATOR: Model #PLHS2375BK discontinued but similar styles are available from Frigidaire, www.frigidaire.com.

FAUCET: Metro single-hole kitchen faucet #06566860 from Hansgrohe, www.hansgrohe-usa.com.



From: "Get the Goods: Lighting"

Author: Randall Whitehead
www.randallwhitehead.com

ENERGY-SAVING TIPS: EPA's Energy Star program, www.energystar.gov.

INCANDESCENT, HALOGEN, FLUORESCENT, AND COMPACT FLUORESCENT: General Electric, www.gelighting.com; Sylvania, www.sylvania.com; Philips, www.philips.com; and Westinghouse, www.westinghouselightbulbs.com.

LED LAMPS: Super Bright LEDs, www.superbrightleds.com.



From: "Back Cover"

Architect: Eric Odor
SALA Architects
www.salaarc.com
with Chris Bubser and Steve Buetow
Contractor: Bob Flynn
Flynn Construction
www.flynnconst.com